> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://blog.mylifenote.ai/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Best Free Journaling Apps in 2026: 8 Compared (What's Actually Free)
- URL: https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-free-journaling-apps/
- Published: 2026-10-21T15:57:45.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-21T15:57:45.000Z
- Description: We compared eight journaling apps with a free plan that does not expire, checking each free-plan limit, paid price and platform against the developer's own pages on October 21, 2026, plus Rosebud's free-plan change and the research on journaling.
- Author: Daniel W. Chen
- Tags: App Comparison, AI Journaling, Personal Growth

*Reviewed October 21, 2026\. Free-plan details and prices come from each developer's own pricing page and the US App Store and Google Play listings on that date. We reviewed these apps from those pages and from published studies. We did not use each one for weeks.*

📌 TL;DR: Best Free Journaling Apps (2026)

The best **free journaling app** for most people is **Day One**, whose free Basic plan gives you **unlimited entries and journals with end-to-end encryption** but only **one device and one photo per entry**. **Apple Journal** is fully free on iPhone and iPad, **Reflection** and **Penzu** have free plans on iOS, Android and the web, and **Mindsera**'s free Curious plan includes AI prompting. **Rosebud retired its free plan on September 30, 2026**, so it is no longer on this list. Below: what each free plan includes, where it stops, what paid costs, and what the research says about journaling.

A free journaling app is one you can keep writing in indefinitely without paying, with a free plan that stays after any trial ends.

That definition rules out a lot of apps that say "free" on the download button and then ask for a card after seven days. We compared eight apps that pass the test, checked every free-plan limit and price against the company's own pages, and wrote down where each free plan stops. If you want the full field of free and paid apps, our [best journaling apps](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-journaling-apps/) guide covers it. This page answers a narrower question: **what can you actually do for $0?**

## Best free journaling apps at a glance

Day One is the strongest free journal overall, Apple Journal is the best fully free option on iPhone, and Mindsera is the best free plan if you want AI prompts.

- **Best free journal overall:** Day One. Unlimited text entries and journals, end-to-end encryption, prompts and templates on the free plan. Limited to one device and one photo per entry.
- **Best for iPhone users:** Apple Journal. Free, with no in-app purchases on its App Store listing.
- **Best free plan across phone and web:** Reflection. A "Free Forever" plan with unlimited entries on iOS, Android and web, with limited syncing.
- **Best free web journal:** Penzu. Write as much as you like for free and sync to the web and your phone at no cost.
- **Best for morning and evening routines:** Stoic. Free to journal, with paid Premium and AI tiers.
- **Best free AI journal app:** Mindsera. Its free Curious plan includes basic journaling, habit tracking and AI prompting.
- **Best for a chat companion:** Journey. A free version you can use indefinitely, plus a journaling Pal you can talk to.
- **Best for mood tracking without writing:** Daylio. A micro-diary you can keep without typing a line.

## How we chose these free journal apps

We only included apps with a free plan that does not expire, and we checked each one against the developer's own pricing page or store listing on October 21, 2026.

- **Free plan, not a trial:** the company must say you can keep journaling for free after any trial. Apps that only offer a time-limited trial were left out.
- **Free-plan limits:** how many entries, devices, photos and AI uses you get before paying.
- **Paid price:** the US price on the developer's site or the US App Store, so you know what an upgrade costs.
- **Platforms:** iPhone, Android, web and desktop, as each company lists them.
- **Privacy:** what each company says about encryption and where entries are stored.

**What we did:** read pricing pages, App Store and Google Play listings, and published studies. **What we did not do:** install each app and use it for weeks, so we do not rank on hands-on feel. Where a company does not state something, we say "not stated." Prices change often, so check the app before you subscribe. Life Note is our own app, so it has its own disclosed section and is not in the ranking.

## Free journaling apps compared: what's free and what it costs

This table shows what each free plan includes, its main limit, the paid price and the platforms, as each developer listed them on October 21, 2026.

| App                     | Best for                       | Free plan includes                                                                        | Main free limit                                                                                    | Paid price (US)                                          | Platforms                                             |
| ----------------------- | ------------------------------ | ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------------------- |
| **Day One**             | Best free journal overall      | Unlimited entries and journals, end-to-end encryption, prompts, templates, search         | 1 device, 1 photo per entry                                                                        | Silver $49.99/yr, Gold $74.99/yr                         | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, Windows, web |
| **Apple Journal**       | iPhone users                   | Entries with photos, video, audio, places, prompts, multiple journals, streaks            | Apple devices only                                                                                 | Free, no in-app purchases listed                         | iPhone, iPad                                          |
| **Reflection**          | Free plan across phone and web | Unlimited entries, monthly and annual reviews, prompts, insights, import and export       | Limited syncing, one photo per entry                                                               | $8/month or $5.75/month billed annually                  | iOS, Android, web                                     |
| **Penzu**               | Free web journal               | Unlimited journaling, free cloud sync, password lock, tags, search                        | Extra customization and features are Pro                                                           | Pro $4.99/month or $19.99/year                           | Web, iOS, Android                                     |
| **Stoic**               | Morning and evening routines   | Journaling and daily reflections                                                          | Expert prompts, guided journals, meditations, habit and mood tracking and AI are listed as Premium | Premium listed $6.99 to $39.99; AI tier $12.99 to $99.99 | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web          |
| **Mindsera**            | Free AI prompts                | Basic journaling, habit tracking, AI prompting, 52+ templates, export                     | Voice, entry analysis and Ask Your Journal are paid                                                | Genius $14.99/month or $129/year                         | iPhone, Android, web                                  |
| **Journey**             | A chat companion               | A free version with no time limit; journaling Pal (free chat allowance not stated)        | Sync, end-to-end encryption and more Pal chat tokens are membership                                | $6.99/month or $49.99/year                               | Mobile, desktop, web                                  |
| **Daylio**              | Mood tracking without writing  | Mood and activity entries with notes (free and Premium split not stated)                  | Not stated on the listings                                                                         | Premium listed $4.99 to $59.99                           | iPhone, iPad, Android                                 |
| **Life Note** (our app) | Mentor replies to entries      | Mentor replies to 10 entries in week one, then 3 a week; mentor chat up to 10 times a day | Weekly reply limit                                                                                 | $10.99/month or $99.99/year                              | iOS, Android, web                                     |

Prices are developer-site or US App Store figures from October 21, 2026, and they can change by region and promotion. Where the App Store lists several in-app purchase prices without naming the billing period, we show the range. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say, which is different from the app lacking the feature.

## The 8 best free journaling apps in 2026

These eight apps are ordered by how much you can do on the free plan and how clearly the developer states where the free plan stops.

### 1\. Day One — Best free journal overall

Best for people who want a full-featured private journal on one device, with unlimited entries and end-to-end encryption at no cost.

**Free plan:** Basic, $0 | **Paid:** Silver $49.99/year, Gold $74.99/year | **Platforms:** iPhone, Apple Watch, iPad, Mac, Android, Windows and web

Day One's [plans page](https://dayoneapp.com/plans/) lists the free Basic plan at **$0 per year** with **unlimited journal entries, unlimited journals, end-to-end encryption**, the Daily Prompt and prompt library, journal templates, search and filters, On This Day memories and streaks. Its [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1044867788) says Day One is "FREE to use forever with unlimited entries." That makes it the most generous free plan we found for long-form writing.

The limits are clear. Basic allows **1 photo per entry** and **1 device**. Journaling across all your devices, unlimited photos and videos, audio recording and transcription, and drawings are part of Silver. The AI features sit in Gold: Daily Chat for guided reflection, AI summaries and prompts, Go Deeper Prompts and entry summaries. Day One's release notes in the App Store say Daily Chat is "free to try for 7 days," and its Google Play listing says AI features are optional and your content is "never used to train AI models." Thinking about moving later? See our [Day One alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/day-one-journal-alternative/).

- **Free plan includes:** unlimited entries and journals, end-to-end encryption, prompts, templates, search, On This Day, streaks, web access, export to PDF and CSV/JSON.
- **Free plan limits:** one device, one photo per entry, no audio recording, and no AI features beyond the Daily Chat trial.

### 2\. Apple Journal — Best free journal for iPhone users

Best for iPhone and iPad owners who want a free journal with no upgrade screen at all.

**Free plan:** the whole app is free | **Paid:** none listed | **Platforms:** iPhone and iPad

Apple's Journal app is listed as **Free** on the [App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6447391597), and the listing shows no in-app purchases. You can add photos, videos, places, audio recordings that are transcribed automatically, and your state of mind, which saves to the Health app. It suggests moments to write about and offers reflection prompts on gratitude, kindness and purpose. The listing says these suggestions are created using **on-device intelligence**, and you choose what information they can use.

On privacy, you can lock the journal with your device passcode, Touch ID or Face ID, and entries back up to iCloud. Apple's [iCloud data security overview](https://support.apple.com/en-us/102651) lists Journal data as **end-to-end encrypted** under both standard data protection and Advanced Data Protection. The trade-off is reach: the listing names iPhone and iPad only, so it does not help if you also use Android or a Windows PC.

- **Free plan includes:** everything in the app: media, prompts, multiple journals, insights and streaks, search, export and print.
- **Free plan limits:** iPhone and iPad only, and some features are available only in select languages and regions.

### 3\. Reflection — Best free plan across phone and web

Best for people who want a free plan that works on iOS, Android and the web, with built-in monthly and annual reviews.

**Free plan:** Free Forever | **Paid:** Premium $8/month, or $5.75/month billed annually | **Platforms:** iOS, Android and web

Reflection's [pricing page](https://www.reflection.app/pricing) calls its free tier **"Free Forever"** and lists **unlimited private and secure entries**, availability on iOS, Android and web with **limited syncing**, guided monthly and annual reviews, one photo per entry, analytics and insights, search, import and export, prompts, reminders and "No Ads Ever." The [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1504547616) says entries are encrypted and accessible only to you.

Premium adds unlimited AI-enhanced search and insights, unlimited AI writing support, unlimited cross-device syncing, custom templates and tags, multiple photos, rich text, advanced privacy settings and PDF export, with a 7-day free trial. If you want an AI coach while you write, budget for Premium. If you want a clean free journal with reviews built in, the free plan covers it. For another AI-forward option, read our [Reflectly alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/reflectly-alternative/) roundup.

- **Free plan includes:** unlimited entries, monthly and annual reviews, insights, prompts, reminders, import and export, no ads.
- **Free plan limits:** limited syncing, one photo per entry, and AI features listed under Premium.

### 4\. Penzu — Best free web journal

Best for people who mostly write in a browser and want their journal to sync to their phone for free.

**Free plan:** free account | **Paid:** Penzu Pro $4.99/month or $19.99/year | **Platforms:** web, iOS and Android

Penzu's [site](https://penzu.com/) says "you can write as much and as often as you like, **all for free**," and "Penzu is always free but our Pro plans offer more flexibility, customization, and features." Its [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id452674732) lists unlimited journaling and says you can **sync journals with Penzu cloud for free**, lock journals with a password, add photos and tags, search, and write offline. The app is free to download but needs a free Penzu account.

Penzu is the most writing-first app here. The pages we read mention no AI features or mood charts, just a journal in your browser and on your phone. The listings give Pro at **$4.99 a month or $19.99 a year**, the lowest yearly price we could confirm in this list. The pages we read do not break down feature by feature which tools are free and which are Pro.

- **Free plan includes:** unlimited journaling, free cloud sync to web and mobile, password lock, photos, tags, search, offline writing.
- **Free plan limits:** extra customization and features are Pro; the exact split is not stated on the pages we read.

### 5\. Stoic — Best free app for morning and evening routines

Best for people who want a daily structure: plan in the morning and reflect in the evening.

**Free plan:** free to journal | **Paid:** Premium and AI subscriptions; the App Store lists Premium at $6.99 to $39.99, AI at $12.99 to $99.99 and Lifetime at $299 | **Platforms:** iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android and web

Stoic's [site](https://getstoic.com/) says "**Stoic is free**, and works great on iPhone, iPad, macOS, Apple Watch & the Web," with a separate Android download link. The [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1312926037) says "If you choose not to purchase stoic Premium, you can still journal with stoic for free." The app is built around morning preparation and evening reflection, and its homepage describes daily reflections as "Free and private."

Stoic's [Premium page](https://www.getstoic.com/premium) lists what you pay for: daily expert prompts, all guided journals, all collections, all breathing exercises and meditations, customizable daily reflections, habit and mood tracking, and AI features such as personalized reflections with prompts "by Seneca, Marcus Aurelius and more" and reflective analysis of your entries. Stoic does not publish a separate list of free features, so expect the free version to cover basic journaling and the rest to sit behind the upgrade. For more on the philosophy behind it, see our [Stoic app alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/stoic-app-alternative/).

- **Free plan includes:** journaling and daily reflections, in Stoic's own words "free and private."
- **Free plan limits:** the Premium page lists expert prompts, guided journals, meditations, breathing exercises, habit and mood tracking and AI features as Premium.

### 6\. Mindsera — Best free AI journal app

Best for people searching for a free journaling app with AI who want thinking frameworks and AI prompts before paying.

**Free plan:** Curious | **Paid:** Genius $14.99/month, or $129/year ($10.75/month) | **Platforms:** iPhone, Android and web

Mindsera's [pricing section](https://www.mindsera.com/) lists the **Curious plan as FREE**, with a minimal journal, habit tracker, passcode, dark mode and themes, custom and AI-suggested tags, smart highlights, export to Markdown or PDF, and **52+ framework templates** based on well-known thinkers. Its FAQ says Curious "includes basic journaling, habit tracking and **AI prompting**."

The deeper AI is in Genius: voice mode, call mode, conversational prompts that know your past, entry analysis, Ask Your Journal, long-term emotion analysis, recurring topic detection, a personality assessment and a weekly review email. Our [Mindsera review](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/mindsera-review/) goes deeper, and [AI journaling apps compared](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/ai-journaling-apps-compared/) puts it next to other AI tools.

- **Free plan includes:** basic journaling, AI prompting, AI-suggested tags, habit tracker, 52+ templates, passcode, export.
- **Free plan limits:** voice, entry analysis, Ask Your Journal and long-term pattern tools are Genius only.

### 7\. Journey — Best free journal with a chat companion

Best for people who want a journal they can talk to by text or voice, and who are fine with a paid plan for sync.

**Free plan:** free version, no time limit | **Paid:** Journey.Cloud membership US$6.99/month or US$49.99/year | **Platforms:** mobile, desktop and web

Journey's [membership page](https://journey.cloud/membership) says "Journey offers a free version that users can try indefinitely." The [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1300202543) introduces Barry or Sherry, a journaling Pal "who listens and remembers things about you," which you can chat with by text or voice. It also describes mood tracking, photo, video and audio entries, and a passcode and Face ID lock, and marks only shared journals and end-to-end encryption as Cloud Sync features.

The membership page then lists what paying adds: cross-platform sync, **more chat tokens with your Pal**, custom templates, Throwback memories and email-to-journal. Journey does not say on the pages we read how many chat tokens the free version includes. Compare it with others in our [Journey app alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/journey-app-alternative/).

- **Free plan includes:** a free version with no time limit; the listing marks only shared journals and end-to-end encryption as paid-sync features.
- **Free plan limits:** cross-platform sync, end-to-end encryption, shared journals and extra Pal chat tokens require membership; the free chat allowance is not stated.

### 8\. Daylio — Best for mood tracking without writing

Best for people who want a daily record of mood and activities in a few taps, with optional notes.

**Free plan:** free to download and use | **Paid:** Daylio Premium; the App Store lists prices from $4.99 to $59.99 | **Platforms:** iPhone, iPad and Android

Daylio's [App Store listing](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1194023242) describes it as a micro-diary that lets you "keep a private journal without having to type a single line," and invites you to try it for free. You pick a mood, add activities, and optionally write a note. Daylio turns those into charts, a Year in Pixels view, goals and habit stats.

Daylio stands out on storage: the listing says your data is **stored locally on your phone**, with optional backups to your own cloud storage, and its [Google Play listing](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.daylio&hl=en%5FUS&gl=US) says "No ads, no tracking." The listings do not say which features are free and which need Premium. It suits people who want data on their moods more than long entries. For writing-based tools aimed at anxiety, see the [best journaling apps for anxiety](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-journaling-apps-for-anxiety/).

- **What the listing describes:** mood and activity entries, notes, statistics, goals, reminders, PIN lock, local storage.
- **Free plan limits:** not stated on the listings; Premium is sold as an in-app purchase.

Rosebud is no longer free

Rosebud's [help center](https://help.rosebud.app/account/changes-to-the-free-plan) says that **effective September 30, 2026, the Rosebud free plan was retired**, because its new memory system "requires significantly more resources to run." Paid plans start at **Bloom, $12.99 a month or $107.99 a year** on the US App Store. If you were a free Rosebud user, the apps above all still have a free plan. We also compare options in our [Rosebud alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/rosebud-journal-alternative/) guide.

### Apps we left out and why

- **Rosebud:** the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026 (see the box above).
- **Reflectly:** free to download, but its App Store listing describes Premium subscriptions and a free trial without saying what stays free, so we could not confirm a free plan.
- **General note apps:** Notion's [pricing page](https://www.notion.com/pricing) lists a $0 Free plan "for individuals to organize personal projects and life," and some people journal there. It is a general workspace with no journaling prompts or reviews built in. Our guide to [Notion for journaling](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/notion-for-journaling/) shows how to set one up.

## Our app: Life Note

Life Note is our own app, so we list it here with full disclosure and do not rank it against the others. It suits people who want a reply to what they wrote from a mentor inspired by a thinker.

**Free plan:** yes, with weekly limits | **Paid:** Premium $10.99/month or $99.99/year (US App Store) | **Platforms:** iOS, Android and web

In Life Note you write an entry and a mentor replies. The mentors are inspired by **1,000+ thinkers**, such as Carl Jung, Marcus Aurelius and Seneca, and replies are **grounded in** their writings. **Roots** shows the passage a reply drew on, so you can read the source yourself.

On the free plan, **your main mentor replies to 10 entries in your first week, then 3 entries a week**, and you can **chat with mentors up to 10 times a day**. Imported history does not count toward the limit, which matters if you are bringing years of entries from another app. Premium, at $10.99 a month or $99.99 a year on the US App Store, removes those limits and lets up to three mentors reply to one entry.

On privacy, entries are encrypted at rest with a per-account key and are never used to train AI models. Life Note is **not end-to-end encrypted**. If end-to-end encryption is your top requirement, Day One and Apple Journal state it on their free plans. We compare Life Note and Rosebud head to head in [Rosebud vs Life Note](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/rosebud-vs-life-note/).

Want a reply to what you wrote?

Life Note's free plan gives you mentor replies to 10 entries in your first week, then 3 a week. Pick a mentor inspired by Carl Jung, Marcus Aurelius or Seneca and see the passage each reply drew on. [**Try Life Note free**](https://www.mylifenote.ai/).

## Is there a free AI journal app?

Yes, but most free AI journaling is capped. Mindsera's free plan includes AI prompting, Life Note's free plan includes a weekly number of mentor replies, and Day One lets you try its AI Daily Chat for 7 days.

Here is how AI shows up on each free plan, based only on what the companies state:

- **Mindsera:** AI prompting and AI-suggested tags on the free Curious plan. Entry analysis and voice are in Genius.
- **Life Note (our app):** mentor replies to 10 entries in your first week, then 3 a week, plus up to 10 mentor chats a day.
- **Journey:** a journaling Pal you can chat with; membership adds more chat tokens, and the free allowance is not stated.
- **Day One:** AI features are in Gold, with Daily Chat free to try for 7 days.
- **Reflection and Stoic:** AI search, insights and analysis are listed in paid tiers.
- **Apple Journal:** journaling suggestions are created with on-device intelligence; the listing does not describe an AI chat.

If you want an AI that answers your entries every day, expect to pay. If you want a few AI-assisted entries a week, a free plan can be enough. Our guide to [AI journaling](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/ai-journaling/) explains what these tools can and cannot do.

## Does journaling work? What the research says

Meta-analyses find positive average effects of expressive writing, often small, and one small trial found benefits from online journaling. No study we found tests any of the apps above.

| Study               | Design and sample                                                                                                                    | Finding                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           | Source                                                     |
| ------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | ---------------------------------------------------------- |
| Smyth, 1998         | Research synthesis of written emotional expression studies                                                                           | Writing led to significantly improved health outcomes in healthy participants, including reported physical health and psychological well-being. Writing also raised distress right after the session.                                             | [PMID 9489272](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/9489272/)   |
| Frattaroli, 2006    | Meta-analysis of 146 randomized studies of experimental disclosure                                                                   | Disclosure was effective, with a positive and significant average effect size of r = .075, which is small.                                                                                                                                        | [PMID 17073523](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17073523/) |
| Smyth et al., 2018  | Randomized trial, 70 adults with medical conditions and high anxiety symptoms; 15-minute online sessions, 3 days a week for 12 weeks | Online positive affect journaling was associated with less mental distress and more well-being than at baseline, and with fewer depressive and anxiety symptoms after 1 month versus usual care.                                                  | [PMID 30530460](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30530460/) |
| Gerger et al., 2022 | Network meta-analysis, 44 RCTs, 7,724 adult trauma survivors                                                                         | Expressive writing was more effective than waiting list for PTSD symptoms; psychotherapy and enhanced writing showed larger effects. The authors report considerable heterogeneity and a raised risk of bias in at least one area in every study. | [PMID 33634766](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33634766/) |
| Lai et al., 2023    | Meta-analysis, 24 RCTs, 1,558 participants comparing expressive and positive writing                                                 | In the general population, positive writing helped mood more than expressive writing; among patients, expressive writing prompted more cognitive change.                                                                                          | [PMID 37434395](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37434395/) |

What this means for you: the average effect of writing about your feelings is small, and it varies by person and by how you write. In the Lai review, positive writing lifted mood more than expressive writing in the general population, while among patients, writing about a hard event prompted more cognitive change. The classic method is in our [Pennebaker writing protocol](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/pennebaker-writing-protocol/) guide, and [benefits of journaling](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/benefits-of-journaling/) covers the wider evidence. A free app is enough to test it.

## How to choose a free journaling app

Pick by where you write, what you want back from the app, and which free-plan limit you will hit first.

### Match the app to how you write

- **Long entries on one phone:** Day One Basic, or Apple Journal if you only use Apple devices.
- **Phone and laptop:** Penzu syncs free between web and mobile. Reflection runs on iOS, Android and web with limited syncing on the free plan.
- **A daily routine:** Stoic's morning and evening flow.
- **Feedback on what you wrote:** Mindsera's free AI prompts, or Life Note's free mentor replies (our app).
- **Moods more than words:** Daylio.
- **Structured thought work:** see the [best CBT journaling apps](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-cbt-journaling-apps/). For dreams, see the [best dream journal apps](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-dream-journal-apps/).

### Check the limit you will hit first

Most free plans cap one thing: **devices** (Day One), **sync** (Reflection, Journey), **photos** (Day One, Reflection), or **AI** (Mindsera, Life Note, Stoic). Write down which one matters to you before you start. Moving years of entries later is harder than picking right on day one.

### Privacy questions to ask

- Is the journal end-to-end encrypted on the free plan, or only on paid? Day One and Apple Journal state it for free users; Journey ties it to its paid sync.
- Where are entries stored: on your device, in your own cloud, or on the company's servers?
- Does the company say whether entries are used to train AI models?
- Can you export everything, in a format another app can import?

### Start small

Try one app for two weeks before you pay for anything. If you need a starting routine, use our [how to start journaling](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/how-to-start-journaling-2026/) guide and a list of [daily journal prompts](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/daily-journal-prompts/).

## Frequently asked questions

These six answers cover the most common questions about free journaling apps, from the best free pick to AI, privacy and Rosebud's change.

### What is the best free journaling app?

For most people, Day One. Its free Basic plan includes unlimited entries and journals, end-to-end encryption, prompts and templates, limited to one device and one photo per entry. Apple Journal is the best fully free choice on iPhone and iPad, Penzu and Reflection work free across web and phone, and Mindsera's free plan includes AI prompting. We checked these free plans on October 21, 2026.

### Is there a free AI journal app?

Yes, with limits. Mindsera's free Curious plan includes basic journaling, habit tracking and AI prompting. Life Note's free plan gives mentor replies to 10 entries in your first week, then 3 a week, plus up to 10 mentor chats a day. Day One's AI Daily Chat is part of its Gold plan and can be tried free for 7 days. Reflection and Stoic list their AI features in paid tiers.

### Is Day One still free?

Yes. Day One's plans page lists a Basic plan at $0 with unlimited journal entries and journals, end-to-end encryption, daily prompts, templates and search. The free plan is limited to one device and one photo per entry. Silver costs $49.99 a year and adds journaling across all your devices and unlimited photos and videos. Gold costs $74.99 a year and adds AI features such as Daily Chat.

### Is Rosebud still free?

No. Rosebud's help center says the free plan was retired effective September 30, 2026, because its new memory system requires significantly more resources to run. Paid plans start at Bloom, $12.99 a month or $107.99 a year on the US App Store. Day One, Apple Journal, Reflection, Penzu, Stoic, Mindsera, Journey and Daylio all still offer a free version.

### Are free journaling apps private?

It varies by app. Day One's free plan includes end-to-end encryption, and Apple lists Journal data as end-to-end encrypted in iCloud. Daylio says your data is stored locally on your phone. Journey ties end-to-end encryption to its paid sync. Life Note encrypts entries at rest with a per-account key and never uses them to train AI models, but it is not end-to-end encrypted.

### Does journaling actually help?

Research suggests modest benefits. A 2006 meta-analysis of 146 randomized studies found that writing about personal topics had a positive but small average effect. A small 2018 trial of 70 medical patients found that 12 weeks of online positive affect journaling was associated with less mental distress and more well-being. No study we found tests a specific journaling app, so pick the one you will keep using.

## Related reading

- [Rosebud Alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/rosebud-journal-alternative/)
- [Day One Alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/day-one-journal-alternative/)
- [AI Journaling Apps Compared](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/ai-journaling-apps-compared/)
- [Mindsera Review](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/mindsera-review/)
- [Stoic App Alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/stoic-app-alternative/)
- [Journey App Alternatives](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/journey-app-alternative/)
- [Best Journaling Apps for Anxiety](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/best-journaling-apps-for-anxiety/)
- [How to Start Journaling](https://blog.mylifenote.ai/how-to-start-journaling-2026/)

## Sources

- Smyth JM. Written emotional expression: effect sizes, outcome types, and moderating variables. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 1998;66(1):174-184\. [PubMed 9489272](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/9489272/) | [doi:10.1037//0022-006x.66.1.174](https://doi.org/10.1037//0022-006x.66.1.174)
- Frattaroli J. Experimental disclosure and its moderators: a meta-analysis. Psychological Bulletin. 2006;132(6):823-865\. [PubMed 17073523](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17073523/) | [doi:10.1037/0033-2909.132.6.823](https://doi.org/10.1037/0033-2909.132.6.823)
- Smyth JM, Johnson JA, Auer BJ, Lehman E, Talamo G, Sciamanna CN. Online positive affect journaling in the improvement of mental distress and well-being in general medical patients with elevated anxiety symptoms: a preliminary randomized controlled trial. JMIR Mental Health. 2018;5(4):e11290\. [PubMed 30530460](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30530460/) | [doi:10.2196/11290](https://doi.org/10.2196/11290)
- Gerger H, Werner CP, Gaab J, Cuijpers P. Comparative efficacy and acceptability of expressive writing treatments compared with psychotherapy, other writing treatments, and waiting list control for adult trauma survivors: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. Psychological Medicine. 2022;52(15):3484-3496\. [PubMed 33634766](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33634766/) | [doi:10.1017/S0033291721000143](https://doi.org/10.1017/S0033291721000143)
- Lai J, Song H, Wang Y, et al. Efficacy of expressive writing versus positive writing in different populations: systematic review and meta-analysis. Nursing Open. 2023;10(9):5961-5974\. [PubMed 37434395](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37434395/) | [doi:10.1002/nop2.1897](https://doi.org/10.1002/nop2.1897)

*Last updated October 2026.*